Caleb Hayes

Caleb Hayes | Hendersonville, TN – M.A., Latin American Studies

Caleb Hayes, who is from Hendersonville, Tennessee, is a student in the 2017 cohort of the Master of Arts in Latin American Studies at Vandy. This summer he intends to enroll in a K’iche’ indigenous language school in Nahualá, Guatemala and collect data for his M.A. thesis project on the health of K’iche’ speakers in that city. His central aim is to understand and describe the idea of health among the indigenous people in Nahualá in context of other public health, economic, agricultural, and infrastructural factors.

 

Blog Post One:

Well after two years I’ve come back to Xela (Quetzaltenango), Guatemala. I’ve been here nearly a week now and have begun part one of this summer’s projects by volunteering again at Primeros Pasos clinic. The clinic offered me a practicum experience two years ago during my Master of Public Health program that opened my eyes wide to the world of Guatemala. At the time, I researched operations of the clinic related to the information system and management of patient data, which was largely paper-based and error-prone. I am happy to return now when they are just getting a new electronic medical record (EMR) system off the ground in the clinic and see the progress they’ve made.

This is not to say that there haven’t already been hitches in getting the new EMR off the ground in the week I’ve been here; however, it was like seeing a dream come true when different rooms in the clinic were communicating patient statuses and reporting data to each other on an automated basis! The underlying application software of the EMR is the Vanderbilt Research Electronic and Data Capture (REDCap) web-based app. This is a unique opportunity for me due to my prior knowledge and work with REDCap, and I hope to apply what I’ve learned about it, and learn more about how it can work, to improve the management of patient data in Primeros Pasos. The specific project I’m working on related to this objective in this part of the trip is how to assimilate data from the clinic’s long-standing “Escuelas Saludables” (Healthy Schools) program into the everyday usage of the central EMR in the clinic itself. I’ve been investigating the issue this past week, but I hope to develop some solutions this week!

Apart from this, “what is Caleb doing in Guatemala?”, you might ask: well there’s a couple of other things in the works, and I’ll be sure to update you soon as they arise. But for now, I want to say thank you to everyone who has supported the clinic and me! I couldn’t be here without my family, friends, mentors, and university supporting me, and I want you to know I’m learning as much as I can in the time I’ve got.

Thanks, Gracias, Maltyox,

Caleb

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. ed nichols says:

    Hi Caleb, I am thrilled that you can see the fruits of your labors! Thank you going back to Guatemala and for the work that you are doing at the Primeros Pasos clinic and for sharing it with us. Keep up the good work and be safe and please keep us posted about those other things that are in the works. Ed

    Like

  2. ed nichols says:

    Caleb, I just read some of your other blog. I can’t believe that that dog bit you and you had to get all those rabies shots. I hope that you are okay. You showed a lot of love for the K’iche’ language school to go back and finish it out and get your last shots there. Ed

    Like

Leave a Reply

